top of page
kimdenton09

Mirjam de Bruijn - Sustainable and Cool

Mirjam de Bruijn is a Dutch designer currently based in Amsterdam and she has created several products that I like.


The first is Twenty. Cleaning products are more than 80% water and there is no reason that they couldn’t be diluted at home. If this was the case it would help reduce the CO2 emissions generated from their transport.


Twenty is a range of cleaning products, including detergent, dish soap, and shampoo, that are sold and shipped in their solid form to them be dissolved at home. The bottle is specially designed to ensure that the product combines effectively when water is introduced, helping the product not sink to the bottom. Along with reducing emissions from transportation, it reduces packaging as you simply refill the same bottle. This is such a fantastic product that could make such a huge difference with little to no negatives. Environmentally conscious design is really important to me so this is one of my favourite things I have seen recently.


The other product of Mirjam’s I particularly liked was Asana. Asana is a range of products for the workplace that help improve posture, strengthen muscles and improve blood flow. They are designed to not look like medical tools and instead be desirable to show off which is more important now with more and more people working remotely, making their homes their offices.


Doing a lot of sitting and staring at a laptop over the past few years, I can definitely see the benefits of these items and would like to try them out. The place I do most of my work is in my bedroom, so I would want any aides to look nice and not be a constant reminder of the stresses of work when I am relaxing, so if they weren’t nice to look at they would probably get shoved in a drawer and I would never end up using them. This is a case where the aesthetic allows the product to function properly.


More about Mirjam: https://www.dutchinvertuals.nl/designers/mirjam-de-bruijn/

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page